Giving a ride

Recently, I was in Lincoln and was getting gas on Fifth Street near the old Postville Courthouse pretty late at night when a guy approached asking directions to an apartment complex. I didn’t recognize the name of it, but he said it was near Lincoln College.

I didn’t know enough of the street names to give him directions, but I told him it was pretty far across town. But he’d already walked a long way in the wrong direction after getting to town on the train.

I got to mom and dad’s, dropped off our stuff and Julie and decided to see if I could get the guy close to where he was trying to get to.

I caught up with him near College and drove him to Lincoln College. Turns out that the place he was going was way down by Hardees, though. He pointed the way and I did get him there.

I’m not sure how long he’d have been meandering around town at night on foot. I know I would have been pretty frustrated.

2 responses to “Giving a ride”

  1. Troy says :

    That’s very cool that you were able to help him out. I wonder why his friends and family were not able to pick him up at the train station. I would be frustrated too!

  2. Guido says :

    I didn’t ask him about not having a ride figured out, or how he wasn’t able to call anyone. Unusual.

Leave a Reply

