15 years of Playstation

I saw via various twitter and blog posts that today marks the 15-year anniversary of the Playstation! Interestingly, I’ve been married nearly the same amount of time. March of 1995 I was married, and within the first weeks of marriage, importing the Playstation from Japan.

While engaged, my then-fiancé and I were big fans of Cybersled in the arcades. She probably just liked blowing me up in a futuristic tank, or maybe she played because she won so often, but I know we had a great time! I remember reading in the pages of EGM about the Playstation, seeing the controller and identifying that it would map so easily to Cybersled. Later on, I learned that Cybersled would be among the initial launch titles. Then another feature really piqued my interest…  the Playstation would support linking 2 systems together for head-to-head play! As you can imagine my thoughts were running away like crazy. I was basically picturing the same arcade experience my fiancé and I enjoyed, in our future living room!

So when I should have been saving money up for a down payment on a house or something practical, I spent $806 on an import Playstation, an extra controller, Cybersled and Toshinden. Obviously I knew what was going to make this marriage work: countless hours of my wife blowing me up in a futuristic tank! Laugh if you want, but my wisdom in this has led to 15 years of happily-ever-after.

Eventually I did get a US Playstation as well. My brother and I looked for every system link game we could get our hands on. Colony Wars, Bushido Blade, Armored Core and Wipeout were our most frequently played. We would bring two TVs together and link up our Playstations and have LAN parties before such a gathering had a name (at least in our neck of the woods it was unheard of). I never did have that system link experience with Cybersled though. It turns out that the home version wasn’t as good as the arcade version, and really, the arcade version wasn’t that great to begin with.

So there it is. The unlikely system seller that caused me to import, the life-timing that couldn’t have been more wrong for me to buy, and my greatest memories came from the little-known system link capabilities.

4 responses to “15 years of Playstation”

  1. Christopher says :

    Dork.

  2. John says :

    Found your site just now- really great, thanks!

  3. Troy says :

    Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

