Computer No. 3

I tried many times over the past few days to find or configure a system I liked so that I could take advantage of one of the deals for Cyber Monday or Black Friday, but I kept running into dead ends.

The one I was most excited about had a quad core processor, 4GB RAM and a 320GB hard drive, but I finally figured out it only came with 64-bit Windows Vista, which would cause me more problems that I could handle.

So I started looking on Ebay and found a system with the following:

2.4 gHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor
2GB of DDR2 RAM
160GB hard drive (everthing’s eSATA now, right?)
CDRW/DVDRW drive
Media card reader
6 rear USB 2.o ports
3 front USB 2.0 ports
Windows XP Professional
Keyboard, mouse, power cord, manuals and software discs

I paid $284 with IL sales tax and free shipping. What do you think? Maybe this one will last me 11 years, like the one Troy got me in 1997 or 1998?

The one Troy got me is my second computer and that’s the one I’m using now. It’s got:

500 mHz Pentium III processor
767MB SDRAM (3 x 256)
30 GB hard drive (Ultra ATA)
160 GB hard drive (Ultra ATA)
Windows XP Professional SP3
DVD RW
CD-RW
Floppy drive
Zip drive
5 USB 2.0 ports
2 USB 1.0 ports

My first computer was an Apple IIe, by the way. I guess I have a precedent of going long stretches without buying a new computer.

One response to “Computer No. 3”

  1. Troy says :

    pretty exciting! So you are going from a 500Mhz Pentium III with how much RAM? to a 2.4 Ghz core 2 duo .. that is going to be an amazing jump for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

