1,300 miles

troy

11:30 a.m. (EST) in Ft. Lauderdale.
Class wrapped up, and I run back to the hotel to top off my small cooler with ice before I hit the road. The temperature is 83 degrees.

2:49 p.m. (EST) in Orlando
I grab a quick lunch and then swing by the tailor to pick up some pants I was having altered. “Work pants?” the seamstress asks. I confirm. She responds, “That’s good! … They are your ‘make-money pants!'” The temperature is 74 degrees. 33 iPod tracks down.

6:26 p.m. (EST) in Valdosta, Ga.
The sun is setting. It’s 66 degrees, and I’m on track 57 on my iPod. I don’t have Internet here so I’ll have to post this with the next stop. Nothing too eventful. The snacks for this trip include dried apricots, fresh bananas, yogurt-covered raisins, and blueberry bagels.

10:03 p.m. (EST) in Atlanta, Ga.
Now into the night and a bit further north, it is currently 33 degrees. I’m on track 98 on the iPod, and have ~640 miles left according to the GPS. I’m breaking my caffeine-free rule for this trip. Diet Dr. Pepper and even a few Coke Blak are in my cooler.

1:35 a.m. (CST) Saturday in Nashville, Tenn.
iPod track 153. Random included 2 repeats so far. The temperature is 25 degrees.

Things I really like about the Acura TL include:

  • The dashboard clock automatically adjust to the timezone changes via data from the GPS.
  • The high-intensity head lights.
  • The iPod adapter (Don’t know what I would’ve done without it this trip!)
  • The hands free bluetooth for my cell phone (and how it pauses the music when a call comes in).
  • The climate control switching from air-conditioning to heat without any prompting … simply maintains the temperature I set regardless of climate changes.

3:57 a.m. in Paducah, Ky.
iPod tracks: 192. The temperature is 26 degrees. This will probably be my last fueling …I’m 289 miles away and have 421 miles available with a full tank. For those curious, I’ve been using my MacBook Pro’s built-in i-sight and photobooth for the handful of pics here. For the internet connection I’ve been using bluetooth from the laptop to my Motorola (Verizon) cell phone, which has limited bandwidth, but enough for posting from the road.

8:29 a.m. Arrived in Lincoln, Illinois.
Total tracks played: 270. Current temperature is 12 degrees. I’m pretty tired.

3 responses to “1,300 miles”

  1. Jantina says :

    You are so cute! Drive safe, love you!

  2. guido says :

    Where’s your coat?

  3. Troy says :

    Coat and hat on now! Its getting colder and colder 🙂

Leave a Reply

