Illinois Hat

Seven of us from Jacksonville/Springfield Ultimate (plus Willy came over from Bloomington) went to the Illinois Hat Tournament last Saturday in Urbana. My team didn’t do so well (sixth out of eight teams, I believe), but I had a good time and we had really nice weather.

Illinois Hat photos by Gio. — See if you can find me in this photo.

We took a couple high school students from Springfield who’ve been playing with us for a couple months, Cory and Marcus, and they got to experience their first Ultimate tournament. I think they had a good time.

For my own notes, let me see if I can remember names (Guido, Carlos, Craven, Hot Sauce, Katie, Zil, Chris, Geoff, Andrew, Schmalz, woman, woman, P___ )

The days are getting so short that we looked into renting a lighted field for Thursday nights, but it seems that the park district has raised their rates 150 percent. So we’ve had to go from playing three times a week to just Sundays. I’m disappointed about that.

Leave a Reply

