Limited movement

Friday I had an abnormal mole removed from my left back shoulder. Right on a bendy part.

I have to be very careful not to move my left arm too much, for fear of popping the stitches. I go back in on Friday to have the stitches removed, and finding a comfortable position is challenging.

So my Family doctor noticed the mole during a routine physical and sent me to a dermatologist. The dermatologist did a small biopsy and said it needed to be removed and sent me to a plastic surgeon. The first plastic surgeon visit was about a month ago, he told me that I would have a pretty large scar that would be noticed

..when you are in the club, and take off your shirt while dancing. People who don’t know what they are talking about will say that I did a bad job because it is such a noticeable scar. But they don’t know what they are talking about, this is the way the back heals because the skin is so thick.”

My other favorite quote during that first meeting, when he asked about my occupation, and I told him I was a computer geek. He said in a pitiful tone:

Well… we need those.”

As if I were a county coroner or local garbage collector (no offense intended, apparently we are in the same ‘necessary evil’ boat… it was just news to me).

Leave a Reply

