American giant gone

With the news of President Reagan’s death, I’m going to have to hold several pages in the paper and redo a bunch of stuff for tomorrow. We also had a local fatal accident, so I’m interested to see how our coverage plays out.

Update 11:59 p.m.: Well, we’re done with pages now. My boss (Copper) came in and helped out a whole bunch. I was letting myself get overwhelmed by all the stories and photos that were coming over the various wire services.

Update 12:38 a.m. Sunday: I just called the Jacksonville Fire Department and they came down and found the source of the terrible burning smell. One of the lights in the newsroom was super-duper hot. I got to see it on their handheld heat sensor dodad.

Leave a Reply

