Meet and greet

Spent the weekend in Lincoln. I got to meet up and chat with Cole Warnisher on Sunday and Ryan on Saturday. Ryan and I went to the newer coffee bar place, Coffee with Einstein, which was a little chilly but otherwise pretty nifty. I’d like to go back sometime. I got to meet Ryan’s fiance, see their new house and hear a good squirrel story (wink, wink). He lives right across the street from the Wilmerts, by the way.

Julie and I also rented some weird movies, like 1999’s “Simply Irresistible” which could be one of those so-bad-it’s-good movies. I mean, it has a magic crab! OK, it could be a throwback to an earlier style of movie, and in that sense it might be considered clever and romantic. But among today’s movies, it just seems very, very strange. There are several things that don’t get explained well, and others that don’t get explained at all, which bugged me.

We also saw 1998’s “Phantoms” which is a Dean R. Koontz’s story and had one pretty good idea/twist in it, but that wasn’t really enough to make it good. I’ll give it a rating of “worth the 50-cent rental.”

Leave a Reply

